Columbus State University Print Logo

Columbus State University's Department of English
and Carson McCullers Center for Writers and Musicians
proudly present...

The Carson McCullers Literary Awards

Deadline: April 5, 2019

Carson McCullers Literary Award Winners

The Carson McCullers Literary Awards offers prizes for high school students in fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, expository essay, playwriting and screenwriting, with $300 for first place in each of those categories, $200 for second place, $100 for third place.

The Sara Ayres Jordan Literary Prizes will be awarded exclusively for CSU students, with $300 first place, $200 second place, $100 third place in fiction, creative non-fiction, and poetry.

The prizes will be formally awarded at the Carson McCullers Literary Awards Ceremony at 6 pm on April 24, 2019, in the Arnold Hall Atrium on CSU's Main Campus. The awards ceremony—a celebration of creative writing by area high school students and students from CSU—will offer winning students a chance to be publicly recognized as they accept their award certificate and prize money. Light refreshments will be served at the event.

Deadline: Friday, April 5th

Limit one entry in each category per student.


Awards Ceremony with readings by winning student writers - will be held on Wednesday, April 24th 6:00-9:00 pm in Arnold Hall Atrium.